The history feature allows you to review the history of changes made to test cases and shared steps.
This makes it clear when the changes were made, by whom, and with what intent.
Table of Contents
To view past changes, click "Show version diff" in the menu on the test case edit screen (or detail screen) to move to the history viewing screen.
Version history list
On the right side of the screen, you can see a list of the history saved so far. Comments, modification date and time, and user name are displayed.
The order of display is the newest first.
When the checkboxes on "Version history" are selected, the old version is reflected on the left of "Version diff" and the new version is reflected on the right.
*You cannot check more than 3 checkboxes.
On the left side of the screen, the contents of each test step at the time selected in "Version history" are displayed.
Switching the UI thumbnail display
Similar to the test execution results screen, UI images can be displayed as thumbnails when hovering over each step.
This feature is disabled by default, but can be enabled by setting.
- For UI thumbnail display, the latest state UI image is always displayed as a thumbnail, even if referring to a past test step. (*This will be improved through future updates.)
- For example, if the target UI is re-uploaded, the new UI image will be displayed instead of the previous UI image.
- In addition, the following data is not supported for displaying details.
- Data pattern
- Web API call
- Assert no visual diff
- Draw a figure by freehand
- Set geolocation
- Click and upload file
You can save automatically or manually with comments.
When you edit a test case, it is automatically saved on MagicPod.
In the changelog, changes made within a certain period of time are saved as a single change, even if they were made multiple times.
Also, when a test case or a shared step is added by creating a new test case or duplicating, it is saved as initial data.
List of messages when auto-saving
- Autosaved: test case update
- Saved when a test case is updated.
- Autosaved: UI merge operation
- Saved when UI organization is executed.
- Autosaved: duplicate operation
- Saved when a test case duplicate operation is performed.
- Autosaved: initial data
- An empty step is saved as initial data when a test case is created.
- A shared step is saved as initial data when a shared step is created.
- Autosaved: shared step update
- Saved when a shared step is updated. (It is not displayed in the history of the test case edit page, but in the history of the shared step edit page.)
- Autosaved: data pattern update
- Saved when data pattern is updated. Currently, detailed confirmation of data pattern changes is not available, but will be supported in a future update.
Manual save with comments
Changes to test cases and shared steps can be manually saved with comments.
Click on the "Save to history with a comment" button.
Enter your changes in the "Comment" field, which can be up to 255 characters long.
Press "Save" to save the changes with the comment on MagicPod.
It overwrites the history automatically saved before that time within a certain period of time.
- Highlight change differences
- Ability to display UI images from that time in the test case history
- At this stage, the latest UI image is always displayed.
- UI change history saved and displayed
- Rollback function to each point in time