When you are running an automatic test, there may be times when you want to change the content of the screen capture, due to reasons such as “the test was made with a strange screen capture” or “the tested screen design or system information has changed”. In such cases, use the screen capture “Re-upload” function.
First connect to the tested device from the Edit test case page. (Figure 1)
Figure 1 State in which you are connected to the device
Next, open the new app screen on the tested device (Figure 2. In this figure, the app is opened with the iOS simulator).
Figure 2 Open the new app screen with the device
In this state, choose the old screen you wish to overwrite and click the “Re-upload” button. (Figure 3)
Figure 3 “Re-upload” button
The screen capture is then uploaded and analyzed. If you press OK in the confirmation dialog box, the old screen can be overwritten with the new screen. If you are manually editing the screen UI element names, the content of the elements will be carried over to the new screen as is.
In case there is a correction to the tested screen, some of the UI elements may disappear due to the overwriting. If an UI element used by another test case disappears, the name of the element that has disappeared will be shown in the confirmation dialog box, as in Figure 4.
Figure 4 Confirming the deleted UI element
The deleted element(s) will become red as shown in Figure 5, so if you only re-edit this element, the test may not operate correctly a second time.
Figure 5 Deleted elements
Overwriting of the screen is done so as not to break the contents of the existing test, and so the test will still work in the same way before as long as the previous elements are not lost.